Built in 1886
349 E. Main Street
This building was built in 1886 as the Emmet County Courthouse and remained a courthouse until the county seat was removed to Petoskey in 1902. For the next 101 years, the building served as an opera house, a shooting range, a fire station, and for most of those years, Harbor Springs' City Hall. In 2003, the city moved its offices to their current location on Zoll Street.
The Harbor Springs Area Historical Society, founded in 1990, had been meeting in Jo Ford Park. It was a small, volunteer-run organization that hosted the annual Shay Days celebration and welcomed visitors. In 2004, they signed an agreement with the City of Harbor Springs for a long-term lease of the historic building. After a successful capital campaign, they were able to complete extensive renovations and the Harbor Springs History Museum was born.
Today, the History Museum offers three beautiful exhibits: a permanent Harbor Springs History room, an interactive room, and a revolving temporary exhibit that tell the story of Harbor Springs' unique history.
Kristyn Balog, Executive Director